Warned For The Last Time

Dore - Warned for the last timeI have been warned for the last time, apparently…

…even Jesus preached about hell being real. How can you turn away from Jesus after singing for him, you now label the belief in Christianity as a hypocrisy. Many who are reading your blogs and comments on here Ojo are walking into the pit and with you hand in hand too. I am sorry, for such harsh saying here, but you have been warned for the last time and soon you will too kneel and say Jesus Christ is Lord. You can choose to delete me on here if you like but I will never stop praying for you, your past music Undercover was an inspiration to me and those words touched my heart and soul. Now my soul is saddened because you tasted of the glory of Christ and now walk away from him. You have been warned and those you lead into hell with you will remember these last words I say to you and them. God have mercy on your soul.

Let’s take a closer look.

…even Jesus preached about hell being real
Yes, he did.  He also talked about demon-possessed swine (Matthew 8:32) and said the coming of the Son of Man would happen during the apostles’ lifetimes (Matthew 16:28). He encouraged people to leave their families for his sake (Matthew 19:29), forbade divorce, and depending on which gospel you believe, either forbade it outright or made an exception for adultery (Luke 16:18, Mark 10:11, Matthew 19:9).  He ordered his followers to give all their possessions away unconditionally to anyone who asks (Luke 6:30). He said those who believe in him would uproot mountains (Mark 11:23, Matthew 17:20), and that where two or more are gathered and ask anything in his name it will be granted (Matthew 18:19).  I could go on and on and on.  When his own followers can get to the business of sorting all this out and actually start following their leader’s orders maybe I will take what you personally think Jesus preached a little more seriously.     

you now label the belief in Christianity as a hypocrisy.
I have not said any such thing.  You do know that thing about bearing false witness, right?

Many who are reading your blogs and comments on here Ojo are walking into the pit and with you hand in hand too.
Can you  substantiate the idea of “the pit” at all, or is that just the question-begging that it appears to be and which you fall prey to many times below as well? Everyone has her own path and conscience.  Let us each honor our own, and the paths of others.

I am sorry, for such harsh saying here
Forgive me for doubting this. I do not believe you are.  Rather, I think you probably went to bed thinking you did God’s work by writing.  

you have been warned for the last time
Really?!  Ok, putting aside the idea that you think you somehow know this pseudo-factoid, what would it take for you to believe you’re wrong?  If someone warns me again, would that do it?  If God wants to warn me in a way that makes sense and is meaningful, He knows where I live and any god worth his reputation would have no problem communicating that to me clearly and unequivocally, unburdened by the many problems of religion and ancient texts.  I am open to any life-lessons from any source.  

Update: Since this writing I have been warned two additional times.  Prophecy fails again.

…soon you will too kneel and say Jesus Christ is Lord
Right. Because you say so.

You can choose to delete me on here if you like
That’s not how I roll.  I do think it says something about the expectations you have for those who might disagree with you, and how that is best dealt with.  As long as it’s respectful and not abusive I am happy to let peoples’ words speak for themselves.  It’s a great way to highlight the real nature and consequences of what people believe without any further commentary.   

I will never stop praying for you
I appreciate the good intentions. Of course nothing fails quite like prayer, and it would be better if you actually did something that was useful like donating money to the charity of my choice or to my children’s college tuition or something, but it’s your life and time to spend as you see fit.

Prayer fails

your past music Undercover was an inspiration to me and those words touched my heart and soul
Thank you.  I am happy for any good our music has brought to anyone who listened. Unfortunately I also think some of what we did led to more fundamentalist and literalist thinking like this, which is why I am trying to right those wrongs here over the rest of my days in any way I can, musical and otherwise.

Now my soul is saddened because you tasted of the glory of Christ and now walk away from him.
Rather, I found the claims made by the religion completely unreliable, unsupportable, and flat out wrong in many cases.  Whatever glory I found while on that part of my path was more about what is glorious about the human condition rather than adherence to a set of doctrines and correct beliefs, all of which get in the way of virtue and the well-being of sentient creatures.  I have nothing against Jesus at all.  I have no animosity or bitterness or anything. I know many believers like to think that’s the case because it makes it my fault. But it’s even worse than that; It’s the weakness of the religious claims themselves. I simply think there’s nothing to all of it.  I walk away from Jesus no more than I walk away from any other historical figure, real or legendary that had some interesting things to say. Some of it’s good, some of it’s not.  Overall it’s simply not a factor in my life and not at all essential for the highest expression of humanity, love.  Also, check this out as a remedy for your sadness on my behalf.

You have been warned and those you lead into hell with you will remember these last words I say to you and them
Forgive me for thinking this sounds a little megalomaniacal and narcissistic, characteristics I have seen in  pulpits across the country and the world many, many times.  If I am wrong and there is such a stern God, then I accept the consequences of my conscience and the faculties of reason I’ve used, that we all depend on for all other aspects of our life except religion.  I mean no harm at all to any beings or entities.  

God have mercy on your soul.
My soul?  I am so sorry that it is fear that drives you.

 

11 thoughts on “Warned For The Last Time

    • Well, I think I’ve already received the last one, according to this guy, so your warning would then make his “prophecy” false. But actually I received yet another one between the two, so I’ve kind of lost track where we are with things. 🙂

  1. “…those you lead into hell with you will remember these last words I say to you and them. God have mercy on your soul.”

    Wow, talk about a distorted sense of importance and a disingenuous claim to care about you and others. All this person clearly wants is for Ojo to stop threatening his/her beliefs.

    To the person who left you that obnoxious comment: Your beliefs are only as true as your ability to scrutinize them from every possible angle. Your fear of another perspective is telling…

  2. Ojo – I don’t necessarily blame the person condemning you because he is just parroting what he was taught in church and the leaders of that church could not be more proud of him.

    I would like to suggest two books for the person “warning you.” The first one is called Martin Zender goes to Hell and the other is called Hope Beyond Hell. Both of them confront the belief system that your “warner” has learned over the years.

    All the best!

  3. Thanks again, Ojo. Your “warner” has shown exactly why I walked away from Christianity myself. So many people out there claim to love you, and care about you, and want only the best for you, but really they are only serving themselves, hoping to rack up enough “faith chips” or whatever it takes to get to a preferential afterlife. Not only that, but they have a distinct tendency to be completely blind to their own selfish motivations.
    To quote Jesus himself: “2 For in the way you judge, you will be judged; and by your standard of measure, it will be measured to you. 3 “Why do you look at the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? 4 “Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ and behold, the log is in your own eye? 5 You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly…” Matthew 7:2-5

  4. Just found your blog, Ojo. A divorcee myself (at least I heard Devotion was written while you were going through a divorce), I have taken solace from many of your words. I got up singing the end of “Sea of Tranquility” in my head, and that’s how I ended up discovering you today.

    The whole faith thing is weird. I had faith in that first woman. She failed me. And yet I was compelled to have faith in another. I mean totally driven. Why? Eleven years later and my faith in my present wife hasn’t dwindled. And yeah, it’s a lot easier to have faith in a human than in God, and yet I can never prove she loves me. She acts like it. She gets that look in her eye. She says it. I see it in her when she doesn’t know I’m watching her, etc. And yet, I saw the same things in the first. And she was lying. No, she didn’t change her mind. She never meant it. And it lasted a total of 11 years, too.

    I’m not trying to convince you of anything, because to do so would be stupid. As a “former” agnostic (I say that with trepidation because most of my thoughts still sound agnostic to Christians, particularly evangelicals), I’m with you on so many levels. And yet…there’s that stubborn faith. I know that a part of me wants to believe, and I used to berate myself for it. Now I see it as a gift.

    Christians see their “coming to the faith” as a victory. So when they say, “Before I met the Lord, I used to…”, they might as well be saying, “I used to beat my wife.” No, man, it’s a journey. And tomorrow I’ll see things differently than I do today. And yet, some part of me knows he’ll never change…

    Peace,
    Dave

  5. Pingback: Getting Me Back to the Faith | Ojo Taylor

Leave a Reply

